Skip to content

Chamberlain, Webb Win Primaries

Bret “Chambo” Chamberlain

The unofficial results are in from Tuesday’s primary. Jailer Bret “Chambo” Chamberlain, a Republican,   defeated his Republican challenger, Garland Christopher, 538 to 367. Chamberlain moves on to face Democrat William Moore in November.

Magistrate Donald Webb, a Democrat, defeated his Democratic challenger, Mary Margaret Heaton, 170 to 84. Webb will move onto face Republican George Jones in the general election.

In the 2nd Congressional Democratic primary, Hank Linderman of Leitchfield defeated three other Democrats with 476 votes to face the Republican incumbent, U.S. Rep. Brett Guthrie of Bowling Green, in the general election. The rest of the votes were not tallied by press time.

According to unofficial tallies, 2,308 votes were cast in Mercer County Tuesday.

With the conclusion of the primary, the slate for the general election on Nov. 6. is set, more or less, although candidates for Burgin mayor and city council, as well as the Burgin and Mercer County Boards of Education, have until Aug. 14 to enter the race.

Kim King, a Republican who has served the 55th district, which includes Mercer County, in the Kentucky House of Representatives since 2011, is being challenged by Cathy Carter, a retired teacher and a Democrat.

Democrat Carolyn Dupont, a college professor, is challenging Republican incumbent Tom Buford for the 22nd senate district, which includes Mercer County. Both candidates are from Jessamine County. Buford has served in the state senate since 1991.

In other races, Mercer Sheriff Ernie Kelty, a Democrat who has held office since 2010, is being challenged by Republican Kevin D. Bugg. County Clerk Chris Horn, a Democrat who has held office for over 11 years, is being challenged by Republican Rodney Compton. David L. Best, a Democrat who has served as property valuation administrator since 2006, is being challenged by Republican Jessica Elliott.

Not every office is being contested. The incumbent candidates for Mercer circuit court clerk, judge-executive, county attorney, coroner, the other five magistrates, constables and the Harrodsburg City Commission and mayor are all running unopposed for reelection.

To learn more, check out this week’s issue of the Harrodsburg Herald.

Donnie Webb

Leave a Comment