Skip to content

Yeager Gets Win at Ponderosa

Ponderosa Speedway announcer Michael Despain, left, interviews Super Late Model feature winner Timmy Yeager, right, after the race Friday night.

Ponderosa Speedway returned to action on Friday evening with a full program of racing competition. Feature event winners for the evening included Harrodsburg’s Timmy Yeager in Super Late Models, Ryan Thomas out of Gosport, Ind. in Modifieds class, Todd Coffman of Junction City, in the Pro Late Models, and Derek Bottoms of Taylorsville in the Sportsman class.

Yeager started the Super Late Models feature race at the head of the pack, after winning the first of two heat races, and passed fellow heat winner Dennis Roberson for for sole possession of the lead. The caution flag interrupted racing on four different occasions, laps 3, 14, 18 and 23, but Yeager managed to pull away from the pack every time to get his first win after a six year absence from racing at the Speedway. 

Dennis Roberson placed second, in the class followed by Tim Tungate in third. Jake Henry and Dion Benningfiled rounded out the top five with fourth and fifth place finishes receptively. Harrodsburg’s Timmy Taylor finished ninth out of the 11 car field, but was able to keep his No. 2 spot in the points standing.

In Pro Late Models racing, Todd Coffman was the top qualifier with a time of 14.860; finished first in his heat all before winning the feature ahead of Victor Lee in second place and Elliott Despain in third. Connor Meade took fourth place and Dennis Barton finished fifth. Harrodsburg drivers Gary Yeager and Wesley Brummett finished sixth and ninth respectively. 

Leave a Comment